< Shop Trading Hours Amendment Bill

Shop Trading Hours Amendment Bill

About this bill

This bill amends the Shop Trading Hours Act Repeal Act 1990 to grant territorial authorities a limited power to create bylaws that allow shop trading on Easter Sunday, and enable shop workers to refuse work on Easter Sunday.

Vote counts

62 ayes (supporters)
59 noes (opposers)
0 abstentions
0 absent

Vote outcome

Motion agreed to; Bill read a third time.

Member of Parliament responsible


Yes: Amy Adams National

Yes: Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi National

Yes: Todd Barclay National

Yes: Maggie Barry National

Yes: Andrew Bayly National

Yes: David Bennett National

Yes: Paula Bennett National

Yes: Chris Bishop National

Yes: Chester Borrows National

Yes: Simon Bridges National

Yes: Gerry Brownlee National

Yes: David Carter National

Yes: Jonathan Coleman National

Yes: Judith Collins National

Yes: Jacqui Dean National

Yes: Matt Doocey National

Yes: Sarah Dowie National

Yes: Peter Dunne United Future

Yes: Bill English National

Yes: Christopher Finlayson National

Yes: Te Ururoa Flavell Māori

Yes: Craig Foss National

Yes: Paul Foster-Bell National

Yes: Paul Goldsmith National

Yes: Jo Goodhew National

Yes: Nathan Guy National

Yes: Joanne Hayes National

Yes: Brett Hudson National

Yes: Steven Joyce National

Yes: Nikki Kaye National

Yes: John Key National

Yes: Nuk Korako National

Yes: Barbara Kuriger National

Yes: Melissa Lee National

Yes: Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga National

Yes: Tim Macindoe National

Yes: Todd McClay National

Yes: Murray McCully National

Yes: Ian McKelvie National

Yes: Mark Mitchell National

Yes: Todd Muller National

Yes: Jono Naylor National

Yes: Alfred Ngaro National

Yes: Simon O'Connor National

Yes: Hekia Parata National

Yes: Parmjeet Parmar National

Yes: Maureen Pugh National

Yes: Shane Reti National

Yes: Jami-Lee Ross National

Yes: Alastair Scott National

Yes: David Seymour ACT

Yes: Scott Simpson National

Yes: Nick Smith National

Yes: Stuart Smith National

Yes: Lindsay Tisch National

Yes: Anne Tolley National

Yes: Louise Upston National

Yes: Nicky Wagner National

Yes: Maurice Williamson National

Yes: Michael Woodhouse National

Yes: Jian Yang National

Yes: Jonathan Young National

No: Jacinda Ardern Labour

No: Darroch Ball NZ First

No: Mahesh Bindra NZ First

No: Ria Bond NZ First

No: Steffan Browning Green

No: David Clark Labour

No: David Clendon Green

No: Clayton Cosgrove Labour

No: David Cunliffe Labour

No: Clare Curran Labour

No: Marama Davidson Green

No: Kelvin Davis Labour

No: Catherine Delahunty Green

No: Ruth Dyson Labour

No: Kris Faafoi Labour

No: Marama Fox Māori

No: Julie Anne Genter Green

No: Phil Goff Labour

No: Kennedy Graham Green

No: Kevin Hague Green

No: Peeni Henare Labour

No: Chris Hipkins Labour

No: Gareth Hughes Green

No: Annette King Labour

No: Iain Lees-Galloway Labour

No: Andrew Little Labour

No: Jan Logie Green

No: Nanaia Mahuta Labour

No: Trevor Mallard Labour

No: Ron Mark NZ First

No: Tracey Martin NZ First

No: Mojo Mathers Green

No: Clayton Mitchell NZ First

No: Sue Moroney Labour

No: Stuart Nash Labour

No: Damien O'Connor Labour

No: Denis O'Rourke NZ First

No: Pita Paraone NZ First

No: David Parker Labour

No: Winston Peters NZ First

No: Richard Prosser NZ First

No: Grant Robertson Labour

No: Denise Roche Green

No: Adrian Rurawhe Labour

No: Eugenie Sage Green

No: Jenny Salesa Labour

No: Carmel Sepuloni Labour

No: James Shaw Green

No: David Shearer Labour

No: Aupito William Sio Labour

No: Barbara Stewart NZ First

No: Fletcher Tabuteau NZ First

No: Rino Tirikatene Labour

No: Metiria Turei Green

No: Phil Twyford Labour

No: Louisa Wall Labour

No: Meka Whaitiri Labour

No: Poto Williams Labour

No: Megan Woods Labour

All data
Bill Shop Trading Hours Amendment Bill
Parliament 51
Vote date 25 August 2016
Reading 3
Success Yes
Reason A personal vote was called for on the question, That the Shop Trading Hours Amendment Bill be now read a third time.
Outcome Bill read a third time.
Vote type Personal vote
Hansard status Final
Ayes 62
Noes 59
Abstentions 0
Absent 0

About this page

Information about this vote was last retrieved from the Parliament website on Sunday, 23 August 2020 at 15:27. Records of votes are part of Parliamentary debates (Hansard) and are not covered by copyright.

This information has been scraped from the Parliament website, and its accuracy depends on the Parliament site being consistently formatted. Sometimes things change, which might result in information being interpreted incorrectly or not at all. If that's the case, you can submit a correction request.

Image of Michael Woodhouse: Cropped and resized; Licenced (but not endorsed) under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence (CC BY 4.0) by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet on behalf of the Crown (attributed to Government House)