< Abortion Legislation Bill

Abortion Legislation Bill

About this bill

This omnibus bill amends the law to decriminalise abortion, better align the regulation of abortion services with other health services, and modernise the legal framework for abortion currently set out in the Crimes Act 1961 and the Contraception, Sterilisation, and Abortion Act 1977.

Vote counts

68 ayes (supporters)
51 noes (opposers)
0 abstentions
1 absent

Vote outcome

Motion agreed to; Bill read a third time.

Member of Parliament responsible


Yes: Amy Adams National

Yes: Kiri Allan Labour

Yes: Ginny Andersen Labour

Yes: Jacinda Ardern Labour

Yes: David Bennett National

Yes: Paula Bennett National

Yes: Dan Bidois National

Yes: Chris Bishop National

Yes: David Carter National

Yes: David Clark Labour

Yes: Tamati Coffey Labour

Yes: Judith Collins National

Yes: Liz Craig Labour

Yes: Clare Curran Labour

Yes: Marama Davidson Green

Yes: Kelvin Davis Labour

Yes: Matt Doocey National

Yes: Ruth Dyson Labour

Yes: Paul Eagle Labour

Yes: Kris Faafoi Labour

Yes: Andrew Falloon National

Yes: Julie Anne Genter Green

Yes: Golriz Ghahraman Green

Yes: Peeni Henare Labour

Yes: Chris Hipkins Labour

Yes: Brett Hudson National

Yes: Gareth Hughes Green

Yes: Raymond Huo Labour

Yes: Willie Jackson Labour

Yes: Nikki Kaye National

Yes: Barbara Kuriger National

Yes: Iain Lees-Galloway Labour

Yes: Andrew Little Labour

Yes: Jan Logie Green

Yes: Marja Lubeck Labour

Yes: Jo Luxton Labour

Yes: Trevor Mallard Labour

Yes: Jenny Marcroft NZ First

Yes: Tracey Martin NZ First

Yes: Kieran McAnulty Labour

Yes: Mark Mitchell National

Yes: Stuart Nash Labour

Yes: David Parker Labour

Yes: Willow-Jean Prime Labour

Yes: Priyanca Radhakrishnan Labour

Yes: Grant Robertson Labour

Yes: Jami-Lee Ross Independent

Yes: Deborah Russell Labour

Yes: Eugenie Sage Green

Yes: Carmel Sepuloni Labour

Yes: David Seymour ACT

Yes: James Shaw Green

Yes: Scott Simpson National

Yes: Aupito William Sio Labour

Yes: Erica Stanford National

Yes: Chlöe Swarbrick Green

Yes: Jan Tinetti Labour

Yes: Anne Tolley National

Yes: Phil Twyford Labour

Yes: Nicky Wagner National

Yes: Louisa Wall Labour

Yes: Angie Warren-Clark Labour

Yes: Duncan Webb Labour

Yes: Poto Williams Labour

Yes: Nicola Willis National

Yes: Michael Wood Labour

Yes: Megan Woods Labour

Yes: Jian Yang National

No: Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi National

No: Darroch Ball NZ First

No: Maggie Barry National

No: Andrew Bayly National

No: Simon Bridges National

No: Simeon Brown National

No: Gerry Brownlee National

No: Jacqui Dean National

No: Sarah Dowie National

No: Paulo Garcia National

No: Paul Goldsmith National

No: Nathan Guy National

No: Joanne Hayes National

No: Harete Hipango National

No: Shane Jones NZ First

No: Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki Labour

No: Matt King National

No: Denise Lee National

No: Melissa Lee National

No: Agnes Loheni National

No: Tim Macindoe National

No: Nanaia Mahuta Labour

No: Ron Mark NZ First

No: Todd McClay National

No: Ian McKelvie National

No: Clayton Mitchell NZ First

No: Todd Muller National

No: Alfred Ngaro National

No: Greg O'Connor Labour

No: Damien O'Connor Labour

No: Simon O'Connor National

No: Parmjeet Parmar National

No: Mark Patterson NZ First

No: Chris Penk National

No: Winston Peters NZ First

No: Maureen Pugh National

No: Shane Reti National

No: Adrian Rurawhe Labour

No: Jenny Salesa Labour

No: Alastair Scott National

No: Nick Smith National

No: Jamie Strange Labour

No: Fletcher Tabuteau NZ First

No: Rino Tirikatene Labour

No: Louise Upston National

No: Tim van de Molen National

No: Hamish Walker National

No: Meka Whaitiri Labour

No: Michael Woodhouse National

No: Jonathan Young National

No: Lawrence Yule National

Absent: Stuart Smith National

All data
Bill Abortion Legislation Bill
Parliament 52
Vote date 18 March 2020
Reading 3
Success Yes
Reason A personal vote was called for on the question, That the Abortion Legislation Bill be now read a third time.
Outcome Bill read a third time.
Vote type Personal vote
Hansard status Final
Ayes 68
Noes 51
Abstentions 0
Absent 1

About this page

Information about this vote was last retrieved from the Parliament website on Saturday, 05 November 2022 at 01:31. Records of votes are part of Parliamentary debates (Hansard) and are not covered by copyright.

This information has been scraped from the Parliament website, and its accuracy depends on the Parliament site being consistently formatted. Sometimes things change, which might result in information being interpreted incorrectly or not at all. If that's the case, you can submit a correction request.

Image of Andrew Little: Cropped and resized; Licenced (but not endorsed) under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence (CC BY 4.0) by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet on behalf of the Crown (attributed to Government House)