Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) Claims Settlement Bill

About this bill

This bill gives effect to certain provisions of the deed of settlement, which was signed on 27 February 2021, that settles historical claims of Ngāti Maru, and this bill also records the acknowledgements and apology given by the Crown to Ngāti Maru in the deed.

Current status

Royal Assent given 30 March 2022.
Enacted as the Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) Claims Settlement Act 2022 (2022/9)

Member of Parliament responsible
Bill type

Government bill

All data
Bill type Government bill
Parliament 53
Ref 36-2
Introduced 19 May 2021
First reading 6 July 2021
Select Committee Māori Affairs Committee
Public submissions due 18 August 2021
Select Committee report back 21 December 2021
Second reading 1 March 2022
Third reading 29 March 2022
Royal Assent 30 March 2022
Enacted as Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) Claims Settlement Act 2022 (2022/9)
Divided No

Where are the votes?

WhereTheyStand doesn't have any records of votes for this bill — even though they would have occurred for the bill to have advanced to its present state. You can read about why this might be the case here.

About this page

Information about this bill was last retrieved from the Parliament website on Thursday, 31 March 2022 at 01:30 (Office of the Clerk). Licenced by the Clerk of the House of Representatives for re-use under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence. The full licence is available here.

Records of votes are part of Parliamentary debates (Hansard) and are not covered by copyright.

This information has been scraped from the Parliament website, and its accuracy depends on the Parliament site being consistently formatted. Sometimes things change, which might result in information being interpreted incorrectly or not at all. If that's the case, you can submit a correction request.

You can view a JSON representation of this page by adding the query string json=1 to the URL.

Image of Andrew Little: Cropped and resized; Licenced (but not endorsed) under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence (CC BY 4.0) by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet on behalf of the Crown (attributed to Government House)