< Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Exemption for Race Meetings) Amendment Bill

Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Exemption for Race Meetings) Amendment Bill

The Hansard that this vote is part of has not been finalised. Corrections are still possible.

About this bill

This bill provides an exemption from section 235 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 for racing clubs on the days of race meetings if the consumption of alcohol takes place at a time when the club holds either an on-licence or an on-site special licence that applies to the race meeting.

Vote counts

76 ayes (supporters)
42 noes (opposers)
1 abstentions
0 absent

Vote outcome

Motion agreed to; Motion agreed to.

Member of Parliament responsible

Ian McKelvie


This vote employed split-party voting. This is when a vote is conducted as a party vote, but with one or more parties distributing their votes over two or all of the three options (Aye, No, and abstention). For parties which cast a split-party vote, the record of the vote shows how each MP's vote was cast.

Yes: ACT New Zealand 10 votes

Yes: National Party 32 votes

Yes: Kiri Allan Labour

Yes: Rachel Boyack Labour

Yes: Rachel Brooking Labour

Yes: Naisi Chen Labour

Yes: Tamati Coffey Labour

Yes: Paul Eagle Labour

Yes: Shanan Halbert Labour

Yes: Willie Jackson Labour

Yes: Ingrid Leary Labour

Yes: Steph Lewis Labour

Yes: Anna Lorck Labour

Yes: Marja Lubeck Labour

Yes: Jo Luxton Labour

Yes: Nanaia Mahuta Labour

Yes: Trevor Mallard Labour

Yes: Kieran McAnulty Labour

Yes: Tracey McLellan Labour

Yes: Stuart Nash Labour

Yes: Terisa Ngobi Labour

Yes: Damien O'Connor Labour

Yes: Greg O'Connor Labour

Yes: Ibrahim Omer Labour

Yes: David Parker Labour

Yes: Adrian Rurawhe Labour

Yes: Jenny Salesa Labour

Yes: Aupito William Sio Labour

Yes: Jamie Strange Labour

Yes: Jan Tinetti Labour

Yes: Rino Tirikatene Labour

Yes: Tangi Utikere Labour

Yes: Angie Warren-Clark Labour

Yes: Meka Whaitiri Labour

Yes: Helen White Labour

Yes: Michael Wood Labour

No: Green Party 10 votes

No: Māori Party 2 votes

No: Ginny Andersen Labour

No: Jacinda Ardern Labour

No: Camilla Belich Labour

No: Glen Bennett Labour

No: David Clark Labour

No: Liz Craig Labour

No: Kelvin Davis Labour

No: Barbara Edmonds Labour

No: Kris Faafoi Labour

No: Peeni Henare Labour

No: Emily Henderson Labour

No: Chris Hipkins Labour

No: Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki Labour

No: Neru Leavasa Labour

No: Andrew Little Labour

No: Sarah Pallett Labour

No: Willow-Jean Prime Labour

No: Priyanca Radhakrishnan Labour

No: Angela Roberts Labour

No: Grant Robertson Labour

No: Deborah Russell Labour

No: Carmel Sepuloni Labour

No: Lemauga Lydia Sosene Labour

No: Phil Twyford Labour

No: Ayesha Verrall Labour

No: Vanushi Walters Labour

No: Duncan Webb Labour

No: Arena Williams Labour

No: Poto Williams Labour

No: Megan Woods Labour

Abstain: Labour Party 1 vote

Abstain: Gaurav Sharma Labour

All data
Bill Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Exemption for Race Meetings) Amendment Bill
Parliament 53
Vote date 8 June 2022
Reading 1
Success Yes
Reason A party vote was called for on the question, That the Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Exemption for Race Meetings) Amendment Bill be now read a first time.
Outcome Motion agreed to.
Vote type Party vote
Hansard status Corrected
Ayes 76
Noes 42
Abstentions 1
Absent 0

About this page

Information about this vote was last retrieved from the Parliament website on Sunday, 04 December 2022 at 01:32. Records of votes are part of Parliamentary debates (Hansard) and are not covered by copyright.

This information has been scraped from the Parliament website, and its accuracy depends on the Parliament site being consistently formatted. Sometimes things change, which might result in information being interpreted incorrectly or not at all. If that's the case, you can submit a correction request.