< Misuse of Drugs (Medicinal Cannabis and Other Matters) Amendment Bill

Misuse of Drugs (Medicinal Cannabis and Other Matters) Amendment Bill

About this bill

The purpose of this bill is to make it legal for New Zealanders who are suffering from terminal illness or any debilitating condition to use cannabis or cannabis products with the support of a registered medical practitioner.

Vote counts

47 ayes (supporters)
73 noes (opposers)
0 abstentions
0 absent

Vote outcome

Motion not agreed to; Motion not agreed to.

Member of Parliament responsible


Yes: Kiri Allan Labour

Yes: Ginny Andersen Labour

Yes: Jacinda Ardern Labour

Yes: David Clark Labour

Yes: Tamati Coffey Labour

Yes: Liz Craig Labour

Yes: Clare Curran Labour

Yes: Marama Davidson Green

Yes: Kelvin Davis Labour

Yes: Ruth Dyson Labour

Yes: Paul Eagle Labour

Yes: Kris Faafoi Labour

Yes: Julie Anne Genter Green

Yes: Golriz Ghahraman Green

Yes: Chris Hipkins Labour

Yes: Gareth Hughes Green

Yes: Raymond Huo Labour

Yes: Iain Lees-Galloway Labour

Yes: Andrew Little Labour

Yes: Jan Logie Green

Yes: Marja Lubeck Labour

Yes: Jo Luxton Labour

Yes: Nanaia Mahuta Labour

Yes: Trevor Mallard Labour

Yes: Kieran McAnulty Labour

Yes: Damien O'Connor Labour

Yes: David Parker Labour

Yes: Willow-Jean Prime Labour

Yes: Priyanca Radhakrishnan Labour

Yes: Grant Robertson Labour

Yes: Adrian Rurawhe Labour

Yes: Deborah Russell Labour

Yes: Eugenie Sage Green

Yes: Carmel Sepuloni Labour

Yes: David Seymour ACT

Yes: James Shaw Green

Yes: Aupito William Sio Labour

Yes: Jamie Strange Labour

Yes: Chlöe Swarbrick Green

Yes: Jan Tinetti Labour

Yes: Rino Tirikatene Labour

Yes: Phil Twyford Labour

Yes: Louisa Wall Labour

Yes: Angie Warren-Clark Labour

Yes: Duncan Webb Labour

Yes: Michael Wood Labour

Yes: Megan Woods Labour

No: Amy Adams National

No: Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi National

No: Darroch Ball NZ First

No: Maggie Barry National

No: Andrew Bayly National

No: David Bennett National

No: Paula Bennett National

No: Chris Bishop National

No: Simon Bridges National

No: Simeon Brown National

No: Gerry Brownlee National

No: David Carter National

No: Jonathan Coleman National

No: Judith Collins National

No: Jacqui Dean National

No: Matt Doocey National

No: Sarah Dowie National

No: Bill English National

No: Andrew Falloon National

No: Christopher Finlayson National

No: Paul Goldsmith National

No: Nathan Guy National

No: Joanne Hayes National

No: Peeni Henare Labour

No: Harete Hipango National

No: Brett Hudson National

No: Willie Jackson Labour

No: Shane Jones NZ First

No: Steven Joyce National

No: Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki Labour

No: Nikki Kaye National

No: Matt King National

No: Nuk Korako National

No: Barbara Kuriger National

No: Denise Lee National

No: Melissa Lee National

No: Tim Macindoe National

No: Jenny Marcroft NZ First

No: Ron Mark NZ First

No: Tracey Martin NZ First

No: Todd McClay National

No: Ian McKelvie National

No: Mark Mitchell National

No: Clayton Mitchell NZ First

No: Todd Muller National

No: Stuart Nash Labour

No: Alfred Ngaro National

No: Greg O'Connor Labour

No: Simon O'Connor National

No: Parmjeet Parmar National

No: Mark Patterson NZ First

No: Chris Penk National

No: Winston Peters NZ First

No: Shane Reti National

No: Jami-Lee Ross National

No: Jenny Salesa Labour

No: Alastair Scott National

No: Scott Simpson National

No: Nick Smith National

No: Stuart Smith National

No: Erica Stanford National

No: Fletcher Tabuteau NZ First

No: Anne Tolley National

No: Louise Upston National

No: Tim van de Molen National

No: Nicky Wagner National

No: Hamish Walker National

No: Meka Whaitiri Labour

No: Poto Williams Labour

No: Michael Woodhouse National

No: Jian Yang National

No: Jonathan Young National

No: Lawrence Yule National

All data
Bill Misuse of Drugs (Medicinal Cannabis and Other Matters) Amendment Bill
Parliament 52
Vote date 31 January 2018
Reading 1
Success No
Reason A personal vote was called for on the question, That the Misuse of Drugs (Medicinal Cannabis and Other Matters) Amendment Bill be now read a first time.
Outcome Motion not agreed to.
Vote type Personal vote
Hansard status Final
Ayes 47
Noes 73
Abstentions 0
Absent 0

About this page

Information about this vote was last retrieved from the Parliament website on Thursday, 02 July 2020 at 22:00. Records of votes are part of Parliamentary debates (Hansard) and are not covered by copyright.

This information has been scraped from the Parliament website, and its accuracy depends on the Parliament site being consistently formatted. Sometimes things change, which might result in information being interpreted incorrectly or not at all. If that's the case, you can submit a correction request.

Image of Chlöe Swarbrick: Cropped and resized; Licenced (but not endorsed) under the Creative Commons Attrbution-Share Alike 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence by The Greens, Green Party of Aotearoa/New Zealand